manacejournal

Welcome from ManACE President

Leave a comment

Hello and welcome to the Spring edition of the ManACE Journal! The theme of this issue is Reflection. Spring is a time of new growth and new beginnings, but for many teachers it’s the time to reflect on the months gone by, and look toward the end of the school year.

 

This year I have been out of the classroom on maternity leave and at home with my tribe. As I reflect on my year at home, and start thinking about returning to work in the fall, I have come to a few realizations about myself as a teacher.

 

First, I am a maker, and teaching is my creative outlet. When I’m not in the classroom, I don’t have that place to experiment, build, and create. When I’m teaching, I have so many opportunities to do all of those things both for and with my students. When I don’t have a classroom, I need to find other ways to exercise that creativity. My son and I paint, draw, craft, build, and play outside everyday. This year I redecorated, sewed, baked (a lot)… oh, and made a baby 🙂

 

Second, I have a deeper understanding of what it must be like for parents to leave their children in the care of their teachers for the largest part of their day, and what a huge responsibility we have as teachers to take care of those little people like they are our own. My littles are still too young for school, but I can only imagine the mess I’ll be when I leave them with their teachers for the first time. When you make a person, you want to know what they’re doing, and who they’re with, and, most importantly, that they’re safe and happy.

 

Third, I have a whole lot more patience than I did pre-babies. Not because babies require patience (because obviously they do), but because I look at my little climbing, jumping, singing, dancing, running, sweet, quirky, VERY busy boy and hope with all my heart that he ends up with  teachers who appreciate ALL of the things that he is. I hope that they appreciate him even when what he needs doesn’t quite fit with their plans, and that they give him lots of different opportunities to do what he loves.

 

And finally, I have seen the power connecting with nature, unplugging and getting outside. Being at home all winter, and often not having a reason to leave the house, I’ve realized just how much a few minutes outside can turn a day around for cranky babies, restless toddlers, and tired mommas too. I know that when I return to the classroom getting outside will continue to be a priority.

 

I hope you have an awesome final two months in your classrooms and look forward to connecting with you!

 

Erin Clarke

ManACE President

Leave a comment